on T R I A L S

“Life is a storm, my young friend. You will bask in the sunlight one moment, be shattered on the rocks the next. What makes you a man is what you do when that storm comes. You must look into that storm and shout as you did in Rome.” This is one of my favorite quotes and its by Alexandre Dumas from the book The Count of Monte Cristo. I’m sharing this because it kinda sets the tone for my message.

I wanted to share something I’ve been doing wrong for quite some time now. Do you ever go through a trial and think okay, there’s nothing I can do about this? You ever start to feel helpless and options run timidly low? Time slows down…Well, it recently dawned upon me that when I feel like I’ve exhausted all my options, I forget that there’s one very important one I haven’t visited. That option is taking it to God.

I can’t tell you how many times I assume that just by thinking about my issues, they’ll get resolved because God can read my mind and he knows what’s going on. Of course, he can, He’s God. He created the human body and constructed 206 bones to form a being that has a soul and FREE WILL.  He created the Earth in such a distance that the sun can’t melt us all, and not too far away that we would freeze to death. But He wants us to come to Him in prayer. That’s the purpose of prayer…it’s making that effort to talk to God. The saying “Ask and you shall receive” wasn’t derived from a fairytale, it’s straight from the Bible, God’s word to us. Did you know that the word “Pray” appears in the Bible (KJV) 313 times? Message heard, loud and clear!

1 John 5:15 is one of my favorites, “And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him.” Don’t handle your worries on your own, let them be heard by the one who listens and answers. Pray without ceasing.

Back to the quote I started this post with…my friend, you will be shattered on the rocks at times. Life’s not a pumpkin patch. (woah Fall reference) And it’s not always lemonade on a hot day. Don’t let social media, reality TV or the internet allow you to believe that anyone’s life is perfect. And in a world of much uncertainty, I can tell you with bountiful assurance that taking your trials to God will make everything better.

Stay golden,

Pri

Leave a Reply

